12 May 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (7)

(It's Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly blog meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. Each Monday participating blogs post about which books we are currently reading and our reading plans for the week. You can sign up at Book Journey by clicking here)

Looks like I'll be sticking to two books a week from now on. It's easier to handle and gives me time to do other things (like work and write). (Although wouldn't it be grand to be able to read, like, five books a week? Hah!)

Last week I finished:

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

Quick thoughts:

This book. Is. Amazing. Fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner will LOVE The Testing. It got to the point where I stayed up until 4am finishing the second half of the book because I could not put it down.
It's one of those.
Look out for a review to be posted closer to the release date of June 4th, 2013

The Collector by Victoria Scott

Quick Thoughts:

Oh, Dante Walker, how I would love to have one. *Pleading look at Victoria Scott*
I love his obnoxious, I'm-better-than-you attitude, but I also hate it, but I also love it.
Witty writing, intriguing story. Definitely looking forward to the sequel, The Liberator!

This week I will be reading:

Proxy (Proxy #1) by Alex London
Format: e-galley; Pub. date: June 18th, 2013
Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

Origin by Jessica Khoury
Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home--and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia's origin--a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost.

One book on living forever, and one book on living a life that is not your own. Should be an interesting mix this week!

What is on your reading list this week?


  1. Love The Hunger Games, Divergent and Maze Runner, so looks like I MUST get my hands on a copy of The Testing. Both your books this week look pretty good too. Have a great week and happy reading :)

    1. In that case, you definitely do! It's got the action and suspense of all three, the survival adventure like TMR and THG, and trials like in TMR and Divergent.

  2. Hi! I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Liebster Blogging Award. Congrats! :) You don't have to participate if you don't wish to, but if you do just click here


Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and for sharing your thoughts! Feel free to link me to your blog as well so I can return the comment love :)